“I have this little sister Lola…”

1174908303-sc-17

 

“…she is small and very funny.”

Weep adults! You grew up before this most amazingly wonderful brother and sister, Charlie and Lola burst onto the bookshelves, TV screen, computer screen, eardrums, and whatever other surface you might have available.

We read Lauren Child’s books first… ( I think “I will not ever never eat a tomato” in which Charlie gets the very picky Lola to eat by saying the peas are green drops from Greenland and so on).

Then Charlie and Lola came on TV… then more books… and oh the merchandising (normally a bad word, but let the cards, party gear, whatever flow – it is all made good by association)…

What is so good? Where do I start? I of course like it that it all happens in the sort of London I lived in. I love Lauren Child’s art work – photos, collage, kids drawings, mixed up deliciously brightly colourfully. I love Lola – she is so… so… individual, so creative, so stubborn! I love too the way Charlie is with Lola – the sort of indulgent, appreciative big brother that probably doesn’t come along very often. I love the way the stories deal with such real things for that age, with such a light but sure touch…

Lauren Child’s website: http://www.milkmonitor.com/

Leave a Reply

