tra-la-laa!

1214341748-sc-209

Thanks to M for lending us the Captain Underpants book!

Dav Pilkey’s heroes George and Harold…

 

are diagnosed with all sorts of syndromes, like ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder). But actually they just suffer from IBSS – Incredibly Boring School Syndrome.

Actually they have not a little in common with Dav Pilkey’s when he was at school:

“I used to staple sheets of paper together and make my own books. I invented a whole bunch of super heroes, including ‘The Amazing Captain Underpants,’ who flew around the city in his underwear giving wedgies to all the bad guys. Everybody in my class thought these comic books were really funny, except for one person – my teacher! I remember one teacher who used to rip up my books and tell me I’d better start taking life more seriously, because I couldn’t spend the rest of my days making silly books. Fortunately, I wasn’t a very good listener.”

 

 

The stories are smart, irreverent, silly, and come from an idea Dav Pilkey originally had back when he was at school. He says:

I got the idea when I was a second grader at St. John’s Lutheran School in Elyria, Ohio. My teacher used the word “underpants” in class one day and everyone started laughing. She got mad and told us that underwear was not funny. We all laughed harder. Usually, when the class cracked up, it was because of something I had said or done. But our teacher had never made everybody laugh so hard before. I realized then that the word “underpants” was a very funny word. On the school bus home that day, I was making up a story about underwear and some younger kids in the seat behind me were laughing so hard, they almost fell on the floor. The next day, while sitting in the hallway — I spent lots of time in the hallway because I often misbehaved in class — I invented a superhero named Captain Underpants.
1 Comment »

  1. Michael K said

    Art imitates Life again
    Great link Captain Jockey Y-Fronts with brown piping

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

