the TRUTH is rarely PURE and NEVER SIMPLE

“These THINGS NEVER HAPPENED, but ARE AlWAys.”

                     Sallust, quoted by the chapter on MYTH in Sara Fanelli in Sometimes I think, Sometimes I am
1240780081-hr-339
The truth is rarely pure and never simple
Sara Fanelli

I picked up this book of Mythological Monsters by Sara Fanelli.

N had used it with her Year 2 class. They just needed lots of pictures of eyes and some stories of monsters and they created their own monsters.

“I might use a piece of paper, perhaps one with curious stains or marks on it, or a sweet wrapper or a piece of my Grandmother’s writing – a shopping list for example. I enjoy printmaking, particularly etching, and sometimes I’ll cut up the prints and use them in my collages. Every object has a story behind it to be relayed or reinvented. Handwriting in an unexpected context is very evocative. I create the different textures in my work by sprinkling the surface with things like sugar, lentils, spaghetti and rice.”



See too: Sara Fanelli – a life in pictures at The Guardian

2 Comments »

  1. […] And Sara Fanelli is the one to set up the escape. […]

  2. lucy_alexis said

    Reblogged this on everybody cut footloose.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

